AT Pro and bottle caps.

Desert Don

Dec 28, 2015
On the Mojave Desert near Mojave.
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro, Garrett ACE 350, and Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505. In the past: Home made detector (circa 1969), World War II mine detector, Fisher M70 M-Scope (1971), Bounty Hunter TR 550, Bounty Hunt
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I've been using the Garrett AT Pro for about 8 months now, and I like it very much. But there is one thing that I would like it to do better. And that is to not hit so many darn bottle caps. I recently found a place that was once an old rest stop and gas station dating back to the 1920s or earlier. There is nothing left but rock foundations. I know that it predates Pull tabs, because I can not find even one on the ground. However, there are hundreds of bottle caps on the surface. Can anyone make a recommendation for the settings for the Pro that would take out bottle caps, and only leave in Pennys, dimes, and quarters or above. I'm not too worried about nickles or gold rings and such. I doubt there are many there anyway.

I still have my old Bounty Hunter Pioneer 505, and with that machine I could easily notch out bottle caps. Any suggestions?

Desert Don

John-Edmonton

Silver Member
Mar 21, 2005
Canada
Detector(s) used
Garrett- Master Hunter CX,Infinium, 1350, 2500, ACE 150-water converted 250, GTA 500,1500 Scorpion, AT Pro
I only use concentric coils, for that very reason. They give more accurate discrimination ID, including bottle caps. All DD coils have a difficult time properly identifying bottle caps as such. If the mineralization is not to bad, a concentric coil is the way to go. If the mineralization in your soil is high, you might lose a little depth using a concentric coil over a DD, but will gain better ID capabilities.

Garrett has a nice article with photos on search coils. Garrett's Searchcoil Tech Sheet | How Searchcoils Work

Murray8144

Aug 20, 2015
Essex County, NJ
Detector(s) used
eTrac
Primary Interest: