Beach hunting always legal??

Ret64

Jan 26, 2014
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Excuse me if this is a worn out topic. I'm new to metal detecting and the forum.
My first question ever is this. Are public ocean beaches always legal to search on in California?

I live on the central coast of California just south of the Big Sur run. We have almost entirely public beaches around here...everywhere except where the multimillionaires live on the beach, like in Malibu two hours south of me. Anyway, I'm an early bird riser. The little misses and I get up at 3 am on weekdays, and I'm retiring in 2 weeks. So, I can easily get to any number of beaches at sunrise . Summer's coming, and I'm a happy guy.

I just bought a Garrett Ace 350 for my first detector. I thought it would be a good general purpose detector for a newbie. I know I'll have to stick to dry sand on the beach until I decide to get a pulse induction detector, but there are lots of other sites besides the beaches around here.

Thanks in advance for any advice you all can offer me.

Last edited:
Upvote 0

handsoap

Feb 16, 2014
California
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome. Which part of the central coast are you from? Sounds like San Simeon or Cambria. In general, those areas should be fine, but just realize any area that is a state park or national park is generally off limits in California as far as I know, and this includes some of the beaches. Like I know in morro bay there are state beaches. I used to live around where you are, and it's better around there than in the Bay Area. In San Fran, most of the beaches are off limits and the rangers will take your detector.

One last thing, I would recommend not wasting your time with wet sand. Only Pulse indicators work effectively in wet sand.

Good luck

Tom_in_CA

Gold Member
Mar 23, 2007
Salinas, CA
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Explorer II, Compass 77b, Tesoro shadow X2