Beginners Luck- first CW button?

TampaNative

Oct 12, 2010
Beginner's Luck- first CW button?

Well, I've been looking forward to getting out today with my new White's Coinmaster Pro (my first detector) since so far I've only hit a sand volleyball court in the neighborhood. I've been doing some research on my area to determine good, old sites to detect. First, I hit an old schoolhouse nearby but wasn't there long before a lot of people showed up for some event. So I moved on- I had found that my stepfather's house is located in an area where there was an old town that was home to a pine mill. I haven't been able to nail down the location of anything specific there, but his home and property are right in the vicinity of the historical area so I decided to head over there. I also figured that being private property, I would be able to avoid prying eyes (being a newbie I don't need an audience!).

Well, I spent about 4 hours out there and was able to thoroughly cover the back end of the 3.5 acres. I found my first pull tab :wink: , several aluminum cans, a few modern rifle shell casings, some various pieces of trash, etc. I also found TWO wheat cents (my first!) which was very cool- I am correct in assuming that this shows that this property was inhabitated in the old days? We don't know anything about what this property looked like in the early 1900's, and I'm curious to know if there is any rhyme or reason to figuring this out or does everyone just go out and start swinging the coil in the vicinity of history. The one on the left is 1917 I THINK- one on the right is unreadable. How do you all clean these?

DSC_0599.jpg

DSC_0600.jpg

WAIT- it gets better! I THINK I also found a Civil War button!!! Says "D.Evans Co." and "NA" on the reverse. A quick internet check shows this company made Civil War buttons, but I can't find one that looks like this one. What do I have here?

DSC_0601.jpg

DSC_0603.jpg