Best All Around MD

New to MDing

Tenderfoot
May 19, 2009
I've been interested in getting into MDing for a while and found your site. I'm learning a lot. Is there a good all around metal detector that I will be happy with at the beach in/near the saltwater as well as on dry land? Is there such an all around model? Money is not necessarily a factor but you can comment on something that might be better for the money as I am a beginner.

therover

Feb 23, 2008
NJ
Detector(s) used
CZ6a (2),Infinium, E-Trac,CZ20, X5, CZ20,X-Terra 705, Treasure Baron Goldtrax, XL-Pro
Primary Interest:
Beach & Shallow Water Hunting
Well, once you specify beach and around/in salt water, a waterproof unit is a must, so that narrows it down quite a bit. Next, if you are also stating it will be used on land, then a pulse induction (PI) unit is probably a poor choice too.

So, of the waterproof, non-PI units out there that are the choice of most who hunt salt beaches and in the water, there are:

The Minelab Excaliber
Whites Beach Hunter ID 300
Fisher CZ-21
Tesoro Tiger Shark ( which most will say is not very good in salt water but possibly the top of the line in freshwater)
Detector Pro Wader

I may have missed a few, but do some research on the features of each, the coil options if applicable and search the forums for posts on the pros/cons and what people think of them. Also, search the internet on the field tests. Although most if not all field tests accentuate only the positives of the machines, they do point out the features and give the reader a general idea of how the detector works.

I have used the Excal....great machine but a little too heavy for me. The Excal is the only one listed that has automatic ground tracking. The others have manual ground balancing except the Wader, which has a pre-set ground balance. It has multiple tone ID in discriminate mode as well as a nulling feature where iron targets cut off the threshold sound.