Boxorama Experiment Results

Rich Hartford

Silver Member
Nov 27, 2008
Just as an experiment I figured I try ordering mega boxes something that I have never done before.
Over the past seven days I have searched 27 boxes of halves. Here is the results
14x 90%
52x 40%
Of course it's not very scientific but I looked at seven day road trip results (for October, not a stellar month) and I got the following
45x 90%
74 x40%
Needless to say the road trips win out and I will return to them on Nov. 1st. I will however get a few boxes 4? on a weekly basis and drop doing quarters.
On the plus side the boxes are fun to do. I got my first Barber Half, and the majority of the 90's were Bens and walkers. Doing boxes are less time consuming than road trips, cheap on gas, and I don't have to listen to the tellers B.S. Good exercise, I got to carry 6 boxes at a time and survived.
The returns are the killer though. I may lose 5 dump banks.
I still have 8 boxes to pick up this week and that's it.
I did not have high expectations with this little experiment, but it was fun trying :icon_sunny:

Upvote 0

nyiangelo

Feb 19, 2007
The Lone Star State
Detector(s) used
ace 250/ Minelab SE Pro
Depending on your stamina.....you should try to do both. I'm sure they are awefull sometimes, but the thought is always in the back of my mind of how it could be a dream box if I don't. No need to go to the burn out point. Just what is fun.

silvercop

Silver Member
Dec 30, 2008
VALLEY ALABAMA
Detector(s) used
GARRETT GTA 500