Bullied by Laws, any suggestions?

M

michigan michael

Hello all!

I am extremely new to this hobby. I purchased two MPx detectors, one for me and one for my wife and of course the kids wanted their own as well so, we picked them up a couple of Bounty Hunters. All four of us hit our own yard pretty hard finding coins from the 70's to current date. Pretty exciting finds for newbies! We wanted more. We practiced digging our plugs and covering our holes, disposing of all our trash and making sure we learned all the detecting ethics. We wanted to make sure we could cover our holes like we did not even dig them before we hit local parks.

As I plan a little family dig trip off our property this spring, I am floored with all of the laws that I am discovering online. It seems that you have more rights as a firearm holder than you do as a metal detector. Don't get me wrong I am an avid hunter and stand by my right to bare arms, I just don't understand all the restrictions the government places on public and state parks. If you do not cause property damage where is the crime?. I also do not understand that if you unearth a coin over 100 years old......That's against the law? What are you suppose to do? Throw it back in the hole and replace your plug and let the earth continue to destroy the historic coin? I understand the need for some laws but I wonder if I will feel like a criminal for enjoying a hobby that is not causing anyone or anything harm. I am sure this is a tired subject for a lot of you but, just getting introduced to this hobby I am a little confused as to where we can legally hunt in Public and State parks. A huge thanks for any suggestions or comments to keep me excited and not afraid to hunt.
Thanks,

Michigan Michael

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used