Calf Creek?

naturegirl

Bronze Member
Mar 21, 2009
Hi y'all! Newbie here, second attempt at posting, apologies if both attempts show up. I found this spear(?) head in NE okla. It's 3 1/2" long x 2" wide, transparent along the thin edges with dark spots in the transparent part. Can't see the dark spots un less you hold it up to the light. From online reading, I guess it to be a Calf Creek made of frisco chert. What say you? I whooped, I hollared, I danced, and got down on my kees to thank the Lord when I found it. Boy that was fun!

naturegirl

Attachments

• resize arrowhead.jpg
    resize arrowhead.jpg
    28.9 KB · Views: 1,544
  • resize profile.jpg
    resize profile.jpg
    23.1 KB · Views: 1,007
Upvote 0

Neanderthal

Bronze Member
Aug 20, 2006
oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro
Close, it's an Andice, which is Calf Creek culture. To find frisco in NE OK, you must've been hunting the river. Frisco is more common in central OK, around Ada.

OP
OP
naturegirl

naturegirl

Bronze Member
Mar 21, 2009
Andice? Thanks, I'll read about that. I was just guessing on the frisco because of the blueish color and the transparency. Yes it was on the river.

thanks

sidmind

Nov 10, 2008
Very nice, JMHO but I would call it a Calf Creek not an Andice, which is what we call them in Northern Oklahoma,
Neanderthal what signs point you in that direction? flakeing? color? I am certainly no expert!

here is a bit of reading material all about Northern Oklahoma calf creek points.

http://www.dempseydivide.org/calf_creek.PDF

My wife has also found a nice Calf Creek but not near as nice as yours.

Sid

Neanderthal

Bronze Member
Aug 20, 2006
oklahoma
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT Pro