CLAIMS

IDdesertman

Dec 8, 2007
Boise, Idaho
Detector(s) used
GPX4500, Gold Bugs
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
The stuff posted in the thread about claim jumping prompted me to ask this. I'm fairly new to nugget shooting and I have to say that I find the concept of claims to be very odd. Obviously some folks are passionate about their right to claim mineral rights, but as someone new to the hobby it's strange to me that a guy can't go on public land and metal detect without being nervous about being on someones claim. I can understand the reason for it 150 years ago, but it seems odd in this day and age. I spend alot of time researching areas to go detecting and alot of gas exploring areas (and using geocommunicator), and most often I find nasty signs telling me to keep out. Why does a weekend recreationist have to try so hard just to go nugget shooting on public land? To me everyone should have equal access to public land, including prospecting, but it sounds like I am probably in the minority. Just my point of view from a guy who is fairly new to prospecting, try not to get to heated in your response.

Upvote 0
P

pippinwhitepaws

raised in arizona...where every mineral body is pre-claimed, by large and nasty multinational corporations, or the property owner never released the mineral or water rights when the property was sold.
i understand the problem you pose.

the weekend warriors who "claim" mining rights, or buy them on line...and never improve the claim, lose that claim after several years...one must improve the claim..this includes road surfaces, claim markers, safety features...environmental studies and restoration...
many of the people voicing the loudest complaints about claim jumpers, are in the group i just described...

so..if i do not see monuments defining the claim, if i can not find the monument with the "owners" bonfires...it is not a claim..and when the sheriff shows up...that is what he will tell the person making the complaints.