Cleaning Inside Shotgun Shells

Jan 17, 2016
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Gamma 6000
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi, I'm a newbie here. I dug up this Winchester shell a couple weeks ago and would like to clean out that stuff on the inside. It looks/feels like a cross between paper and some kind of fabric or cotton material.

Is there a way to do this? Picking it out isn't very effective, it's really stuck in there. What is that stuff, anyway?

Thanks for your help.

_shotgunshell.jpg _shotgunshell-inside.jpg

dr-quest

Feb 25, 2007
Nova Scotia Canada
Detector(s) used
Garret AT Gold, Whites XLT,Tesoro Stingray ll,Whites Surfmaster ll
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
You could try boiling it to soften it up, No worries the cap has been fired :thumbsup:, not sure if its an old fiber wad,

hvacker

Bronze Member
Aug 18, 2012
New Mexico USA
Detector(s) used
My Head
Primary Interest:
Other
I'd go to a gun shop and buy some cleaning solvent. It might make the brass loose it's color though.

Tejaas

Sep 8, 2012
TX Hill Country
Detector(s) used
Garrett AT PRO ~ Propointer ~ Modified Lesche ~ Predator Little Eagle ~ Royal Picks ~ Marshalltown Trowels ~ Sift Tables/Screens
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
I soak 'em in room temperature water and then use a machinist scribe... Comes right out nice and clean.

Its essentially wax-impregnated rag paper. Surprisingly resilient, huh?

~Tejaas~

Last edited:

rick67

Bronze Member
Mar 29, 2014
Smithtown NY
Detector(s) used
XP, Whites, Garrett,
Lesche, T-Rex, RTG.
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I hope you have a lot of time on your hands. If you like to metal detect woods you'll be finding more then enough to keep busy.

GA_Boy

Bronze Member
Jul 30, 2006
Jefferson, Ga
Detector(s) used
BH LRP
1265X,
GoldBug II
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I hope you have a lot of time on your hands. If you like to metal detect woods you'll be finding more then enough to keep busy.