Cob id ??

trainermick

Jul 15, 2009
Chatham, Ontario
I went detecting in Florida along the treasure coast several years ago in search of a cob or two. I didn't find any or so I thought. I put all of my targets in a jar and forgot about them, thinking that all I had was a bunch of modern coins. Imagine my surprise when I decided to finally clean up those finds and came across this cob. I don't even know what beach it came from. Here it is after electrolysis. The other side is worn smooth. It is the size of a 1/2 reale. Any ideas ???

Attachments

• cob.jpg
    cob.jpg
    10 KB · Views: 543
OP
OP
trainermick

trainermick

Jul 15, 2009
Chatham, Ontario
Thanks for the welcome. I feel like an idiot though. I have been detecting since 1979 and specialize in war of 1812 relics and should have known when I found it as I have found several reales in the past. At the time it looked like just another black encrusted silver coin. I'm thinking that it may have come from a beach near Wabbaso but couldn't tell you if it came from near the dunes or the water-line. DUH !!!!

OP
OP
trainermick

trainermick

Jul 15, 2009
Chatham, Ontario
Here are some of my reales found at war of 1812 sites up here in Canada. I put the cob in the lower left corner.

Attachments

• cut silver.jpg
    cut silver.jpg
    65 KB · Views: 587

divewrecks

Bronze Member
Sep 7, 2004
Down South - Marietta, GA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE (land), Aquapulse AQ1B (sea), Fisher CZ-20 (water, beach), Fisher 1266X (woods)
Detail is surprisingly good for a beach find. Your saying there is no detail at all on the other side? Hard to believe with the strike on the pictured side looking so good. Neat find.

Stan

OP
OP
trainermick

trainermick

Jul 15, 2009
Chatham, Ontario