Colorado or Arizona ?

TheNewCatfish

Mar 4, 2011
I'm currently planning my next gold panning adventure. Probably going sometime in June or July. One location is Lynx Creek Recreational Area in the Prescott Natl. Forest, Arizona. The other is the Arkansas River west of Canon Colorado where it runs into the Texas Creek. Both areas promise to be productive. Some 1/4 inch nuggets have been found at Lynx Creek by amateur panners and the Arkansas River is supposed to be good too. Has anyone in the forum been to either of these locations and how did you do ? Which spot do you think is better ? I am a novice panner, but an experienced outdoorsman. So the remoteness of an area doesn't phase me. Both Lynx Creek and Texas Creek are close to roads and very accesssable. I only mentioned my bushwhacking experience incase you have something alittle wilder in mind you'd like to suggest as a destination. Thanks. And please. Don't suggest Alaska.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
TheNewCatfish said: