Cool Old Bayonet (I think), Need ID Help......

Garrett424

Silver Member
Jun 20, 2014
Granite, Maryland
Detector(s) used
Teknetics Omega 8000
Teknetics Delta 4000,
Deteknix XPointer,
Fiskar's Big Grip Digger & my old Army Trench shovel for the tough jobs
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I had a funeral for most of the day and didn't get a chance to hunt much. I did hit a school for a little while before dark and dug a bunch of clad, but nothing too remarkable.
However, I did get something really cool and I must say it was a very pleasant surprise.............

This is not a "found" item but I actually received it today as a gift.

I have a dear friend and she and her kids have been in Israel for the last few weeks. I've been giving her son guitar lessons for a few months and they brought this back from Israel for me. I won't take her money but they know how I just LOVE cool old stuff and how I would never refuse something old and cool; especially a weapon.

It was purchased at some type of street shop for 75 shekels. The lady who sold it said it was a WWI era item. That's all I know about it.
I have no clue if it's Ottoman or what. I'm hoping that someone here may be able to identify exactly what it is.

Here's one overall shot:

Awesome Old Bayonet Gift July 11 2105 001.JPG

Here's the handle. I believe it's made of bronze. The wire is just on there because it was used to hang it in the shop. I just haven't taken it off yet:

Awesome Old Bayonet Gift July 11 2105 002.JPG

And here's a shot of the badly worn engraving on the blade:

Awesome Old Bayonet Gift July 11 2105 003.JPG

I looked online and haven't found anything quite like it.

It may be ceremonial. The blade itself is blunt and doesn't appear to ever have been sharpened.

I really do love this thing. Any help on the ID would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks for looking and Happy Hunting.........

Last edited:
Upvote 0

kingskid1611

Gold Member
Feb 23, 2015
Oklahoma
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting