Could use your thoughts on this one

Wallhangers

Jul 28, 2008
SW Michigan
Detector(s) used
XP Deus, Minelab Explorer SE Pro, T2 SE
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Found this morning and it is the second one of these I have found on this particular site, although this one is a little thinner and worked a little better. As I am still learning about artifacts, I have been a little confused in the difference between a core, preform, bi-face, large blade, small hand axe and flaking tool. In your opinion, what would you call this one. It is 2 1/2" long, 1 7/8" wide, and 3/4" thick at the thickest spot. Found in SW Michigan. Thanks for your thoughts!

Last edited:
Upvote 0
OP
OP
Wallhangers

Wallhangers

Jul 28, 2008
SW Michigan
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would say a hand scraper. Does one side look sharpened or polished?
Both sides are pictured and most of the scrapers I find are smooth on one side or have grooves for the fingers, this one seems to be worked on both sides. Doesn't appear to have as sharp of edges as other scrapers I have found either.

Last edited:

Harry Pristis

Bronze Member
Feb 5, 2009
Northcentral Florida
Found this morning and it is the second one of these I have found on this particular site, although this one is a little thinner and worked a little better. As I am still learning about artifacts, I have been a little confused in the difference between a core, preform, bi-face, large blade, small hand axe and flaking tool. In your opinion, what would you call this one. It is 2 1/2" long, 1 7/8" wide, and 3/4" thick at the thickest spot. Found in SW Michigan. Thanks for your thoughts!

I would call your scraper a percussion-flaked, bifaced scraper.

scrapers_uniface_biface.JPG scrapers_uniface_bifaceB.JPG

OP
OP
Wallhangers

Wallhangers

Jul 28, 2008
SW Michigan
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I would call your scraper a percussion-flaked, bifaced scraper.