CW hunt yields capped bust silver!

sekypaleo

Jan 24, 2010
Cincinnati Ohio
Detector(s) used
Teknetics G2 with 13" Ultimate coil, AKA Sorex Pro, Eurotek Pro, Garrett Pro pointer
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Well, I have been detecting for about 30 years, two months ago I got my very first capped bust silver.... a quarter. The only problem was it had been holed right where the date was. Still it was a capped bust silver. Today I got my second! I went CW relic hunting today and the day was going pretty slow with only a 44 cal pistol ball to show for my efforts. After digging way to many 22 casings and shotgun shell hulls, I finally got a good reading on my Teknetics Omega of 77-81. I figured it to be a minie ball and was surprised to see a heavily dirt encrusted coin in the dirt pile. I could see it was silver but didn't want to wipe the dirt off and scratch it. I noticed it was smaller than a dime so I figured it was a seated half dime lost by a Union soldier. Driving home I couldn't stand it anymore and pulled into a gas station to wash it off. I almost let out a yell in the gas station rest room when the water revealed a 1835 capped bust half dime in not bad condition! This is now my oldest American silver I have found. Tomorrow a friend and I are back in there looking for more. HH everybody.

Attachments

• 22oct1.JPG
    22oct1.JPG
    75.9 KB · Views: 823
  • 22oct2.JPG
    22oct2.JPG
    51 KB · Views: 824
  • 22oct3.JPG
    22oct3.JPG
    36.5 KB · Views: 819
  • 22oct4.JPG
    22oct4.JPG
    28.7 KB · Views: 806
  • 22oct5.JPG
    22oct5.JPG
    25 KB · Views: 811
  • 22oct6.JPG
    22oct6.JPG
    34.8 KB · Views: 810
  • 22oct7.JPG
    22oct7.JPG
    37.6 KB · Views: 812
Upvote 0
U

umrgolf

sweet coin.. took my pard from last year out to a site and he got the same coin :D

crazyjarhead

Gold Member
Sep 10, 2007
N. San Diego County
Detector(s) used
Ace 250
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting