CZ-21 help

Jup51

Greenie
Jul 2, 2011
Im new to metal-detecting, and I just bought a CZ21, bc my friends (who md often) recommended it to me.
Im having trouble to ground balance it, any help?
I live on the beach, so what should I put my sensitivity, ground, discrimination at?
Also, sometimes, on one stride the detector signals, yet on the second stride it doesn't signal. On one direction it does, while another it does not.
Thank you for the help,
Anton

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't have a CZ-21 but have the older CZ-20. The guts and controls are the same as only the battery door and pinpoint button are changed.

You ground balance in AUTOTUNE mode by raising the coil and lowering it while listening to the tone. If it raises, turn the gb knob one way or the other till you get it about even tone up as well as down. If it goes quieter, turn it the other way a might till you have a slight tone. As for settings, the presets are fine to start. I run volume at 4 usually unless I am certain some targets are deeper. Disc I mainly run in Autotune but will sometimes hunt with a setting of 0 which gives you three different tones. A setting of 1 will not respond to small iron like hairpins but still respond to gold rings and coins and only give you the Mid and High tones. Autotune is only one tone and is all metal. A nice feature of the CZ21 is the (over blast) if the target is large or very shallow. I carry mine on the Fisher neck mount strap when not diving because the water resistance is less when it isn't on the handle.