Detecting in Hell

time4me

Bronze Member
Aug 30, 2005
Detector(s) used
E-Trac, Explorer II, Excalibur
frozenhell.jpg

I took my family to Michigan last week to visit with my wife's folks, as the kids were off of school. They live about a mile and a half from Hell, Michigan.

You know the old saying "when hell freezes over"? Well, it did!

Despite the freezing cold temps and the snow on the ground all week, I managed to get out around the old farm property for an hour or so just about every day we were there. I decided to spend some time in the overgrown field next to the yard, as my father-in-law said that when he bought the place 40 years ago it was pretty clear, and he was sure that it had been farmed at one point in the past. I also covered a lot of ground in and around the yard that I had covered many times before, this time digging low and iffy tones given there are no more high good tones to be had. I've been hammering this property every time we visit for the past 12 years or so.

Anyways, here are the pics of my finds from a week of detecting in (or at least near) Hell...

First off here's a shot of the property from a couple hundred yards behind the property where my kids were sledding...

IMG_0535.jpg

Here are a few pics of the big iron and junk...

IMG_0637.jpg

IMG_0635.jpg

And here are the keepers...

IMG_0615.jpg

IMG_0627.jpg

IMG_0617.jpg

I thought I had finally found my first large cent when this big disk revealed itself in the ground, but then I saw it was slightly domed, and when I flipped it over, the back was corroded away. Not sure if it was a button of some kind, or a cap to some bottle or something. Next to it is the only coin I found the whole week - a 1927 wheatie...

IMG_0618.jpg

IMG_0619.jpg

I also found what looks to be a piece from an old cast iron stove...

IMG_0629.jpg

IMG_0630.jpg