Detecting Lawns

Idaho PRB

May 21, 2005
South Central Idaho
Detector(s) used
Minelab Xterra 70, Ace 250
I am new to the metal detecting game and am wondering how to go about removing finds in lawns without damaging the lawn itself or leaving dead spots. I would like to detect some parks and neighbors lawns but I really trashed my backyard in the first few days I had my Ace 250. I am much better at pinpointing the items now then I was then but am anxious about progressing to other ares for fear of getting my a$$ chewed or ruining a park for other people that have been detecting it successfully for some time. I've been sticking to the bark playgrounds for just that reason. I saw somewhere a device that looks like a caulking gun that apparantly removes a "Plug" of soil. Any tactics or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks! Idaho PRB

Upvote 0

Mona Lisa

Gold Member
Jan 13, 2005
Great Falls, Montana
Detector(s) used
White's DFX & a Sunray probe
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
Welcome aboard, Idaho! I remember one of my first posts when I asked the same questions. With practice, your pinpointing skills will rapidly improve. My plugs are about three inches in diameter now as opposed to the craters I was digging in the beginning!

Keep practicing!

OP
OP
Idaho PRB

Idaho PRB

May 21, 2005
South Central Idaho
Detector(s) used
Minelab Xterra 70, Ace 250
Thanks,
My pinpointing skills are getting much better. My wife and I searched through some soil we removed to add gravel in our drive tonight. Found a target at all but 2 locations. We are using a 1/2" screen to sift through the "Target area" and only digging about a 5" diameter circle 6"deep. Something in every screen , just about anyway. Do any of you use a screen? We found a few coins and some trash but nonetheless, hitting our targets. Had fun. ;D

Mystro7

Mar 30, 2005