Discriminating with Ace 250

SnappyBob

Tenderfoot
Apr 3, 2008
I'm very new to detecting and I just tried out my new Ace 250 this weekend. I was hunting an old residence in the country where I new there would be many targets. As I suspected we found numerous pull tabs. I set the discrimination to not recognize pull tabs, tested it and sure enough the pull tab was not showing up. The very next hole I pulled up a pull tab. That was all that was there and the signal disappeared when I rechecked the hole. Also I was getting a lot of unrepeatable targets. What does that mean when you get a beep but when you go back over that location you can't find that same beep?

Mar 3, 2008
PA
Detector(s) used
X-Terra 70 , Ace 250
I have been using the ace for about a month , Just to see if I would like to get back into the hobby after an absence for a few years . The Ace is a great beginner detector in Non Trashy areas , It has problems discriminating pull tabs , and junk , even with the sniper coil in trashy areas . I would dig deep targets at 8" , with a strong $1 dollar " silver" zone signal , only to discover it being Foil ,then rescanning it on the surface then it displays foil , pull tabs will show up in diffrent zones as well . Pinpointing is off most of the time , detuning Is hit or Miss as well until you become an expert at it. I actually am going to give mine to my nephew , and upgrade to a T2 , F75 , or F70 which will be available in 3 to 4 weeks , I like the numeric ids, confidence bars etc etc , Having a detector which offers many Tools as possible then using my own judgment , whether to dig or not , I also think the New fisher F-5 will be a very hot detector for newbies