Do you think this is gold?

ShamrocksSecret

Feb 3, 2018
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new to prospecting (day 1) I found a rough round red rock, between golf ball and tennisball size, and I could see tiny pieces of quartz in it. I smashed it and put it in a bowl, then I added water. It looks like glitter is all in it, even without light. I don't want to get too excited, especially since it's my first day looking, and the pieces are tiny. I'd love to hear feedback from anyone on this forum. Could these pieces really be gold?
I posted in the "what is it" category, but only got one response. What would be the best way to crush the marble sized chunks? Thank you! IMG_8111.PNG

Last edited:
Upvote 0

Assembler

Silver Member
May 10, 2017
Detector(s) used
Whites, Fisher, Garrett, and Falcon.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
This appears to me not to be gold however time to start testing. First read the number of thread topics that talk about testing. There could be some gold within this material hard to tell by the picture.

et1955

Jan 10, 2015
Shoreline,wa
Detector(s) used
Equinox 800
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
How is your panning technique, put it in a gold pan and wash off the lighter material and if those gold looking particles remain probably gold. As you said even in a darkened area it still glows is a good sign. Please show a pic after panning.

Attachments

• 20150518_151527a.jpg
    20150518_151527a.jpg
    951.3 KB · Views: 78

Bonaro

Aug 9, 2004
Olympia WA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Xterra 70, Minelab SD 2200d, 2.5", 3", 4"and several Keene 5" production dredges, Knelson Centrifuge, Gold screw automatic panner
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
A pretty rock found on your first day prospecting is almost guaranteed not to be gold. However, no matter what your skill or experience level, you must test it. In time you will be able to just look at it and know.