Silver Surfer

Bronze Member
Oct 6, 2009
Florida- Somewhere in the middle
Detector(s) used
MXT 300/Excal II/Surf Dual Field
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I noticed on the last couple of trips that my Excal when first turned on will not give me a threshold, even if cranked... I paid closer attention this last time out, and it seems to take a few minutes swinging in the water before it will, then it is usually turned up too loud and I have to turn it down.. It seemed to not make any threshold tone if starting out in dry stuff, only comes on after going into the water, but if I get out of the water after it begins to tone, then it will continue humming over the dry..
Since I am new to the Excal's, maybe they all do this, but I would hate to have it die on me suddenly.. It has a couple years of an extended warranty left on it, but am hoping not to have to send it in for "tune up" until the gold season is over...
Thoughts?

Woodland Detectors

Gold Member
Nov 23, 2008
Toll Free ~ 855~966~3563
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
Relic Hunting
You may know this but, if you are discriminating, your "threshold hum" will be interrupted if swung over the discriminated target. Only to resume hum there after.

Could this be your issue?

OP
OP
Silver Surfer

Silver Surfer

Bronze Member
Oct 6, 2009
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
No, thats not it... Yesterday, it wouldnt give a threshold hum even with the sens turned up to 8 and threshold cranked all the way... After hunting silent for about 2 hrs, I turned the machine off, moved to another lake, and when I fired it up it acted like it should, and I actually had to back way off of the threshold to about 1/2 to quiet it down.. Really strange...

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used