Minelab Sovereign tones??

dirtsearcher

Nov 18, 2008
Detector(s) used
Minelab Sovereign,Ace 250,White's DFX, custom made waterproof detector
I was reading my owners manual and it states the Sovereign has a switch where the dealer can make it variable tone target ID or fixed tone target ID audio??I have been using my Sovereign for a couple weeks now and all coins(except nickles) sound the same whether they are silver or clad..dime or quarter.Even my rings sound like a coin??Where is this switch??There is no way to tell what is there now until you dig because everything sounds the same.I am really new to Minelabs and their tones so this seems strange to me.I have used White's for years.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Now I am going to have to dig out my manual to see about this. My Sov GT has a full range of tones which helps ID the target depending on the conductivity.

Captn SE

Silver Member
Apr 1, 2007
Southern CA
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE; X-1 Target Probe; Pro Coil, 6x8 SEF, Coiltek Platypus Elliptical, Sunray X8, Expl. 1050 coils