Dry Washing For An Income

Dry Digger

Banned
Feb 18, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I am interested in hearing from the experienced prospectors on the forum on the subject of drywashing. I have a claim & have done some testing via small batch samples. The claim was worked by old timers but I think there is still good gold left behind by them. My testing has shown just shy of a gram per yard with some hot spots showing double that. The problem & possibly the reason I think there is still gold on the claim is lack of water in close proximity. I read an article last year written in a mining journal stating that many dry areas on claims are not worked because of this reason. The writer went on to state that with the advent & improvement in drywashers these abandoned areas can now possibly be worked profitably without water. I have no experience with them but with rising gold prices now around $1600/ounce I am seriously thinking about taking a shot at trying this processing system on my claim. I am undecided as to using a puffer or a gas powered Keene like the 161 which is enclosed for low dust. Possibly one of each - I don't know. I do like the idea of working in solitude with a battery powered puffer but not sure if enough gravels could be processed to make any money. Do you guys have any thought as to the drywashing idea & if a gram per yard could prove worthwhile? I'm not talking about getting rich LOL. But possibly producing an ounce a week would be great. Also, i'd like to say hello to everyone & this is my first post. Thanks in advance.

Upvote 0
OP
OP
D

Dry Digger

Banned
Feb 18, 2020
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Agree. It's a lot pf pick & shovel grunt work. If gold stays up or goes higher less shoveling needed LOL. What's your opinion on drywashers?

mikep691

Aug 6, 2015
Northeastern Sierra's
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting