Gold Member
Sep 28, 2007
Dirtyville
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Deus
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Definitely not, and if you believe the folks that tell you the pro coil is better, I'll offer you $50 trade-in value towards the cost on my brand new - never used (not even once) Pro coil I'll soon have for sale. Assuming your coil works 100% and doesn't look like it's been through a lot. Those early coils didn't tend to last long so if you plan to use it you should definitely seal all the seams better, or you could have moisture issues in the near future.

OP
OP
biguglydude

biguglydude

Feb 26, 2010
Detector(s) used
Explorer S
Hummm…I guess I’ll have to give it a good going over and check for cracks. I’ve had this S about 8 months, seems to working ok. I’m not an expert yet but, it has done well at the beach and parks I’ve searched. Some parts of the park I can’t detect because it sounds like a band full of flutes playing different songs!
:read2: I am a reader and I have read a lot of articles about guys putting 12” coils on these and almost doubling their depth and 5” coils to find smaller gold type pieces. My biggest concern was how this unit operates. Aside from the newer features (some I could live without) are the detection algorithms for discrimination still the same? I was hoping the older units operate the same as the newer ones just without all the extra bells and whistles. But then again technology does evolve. Are the coils made today better than coils 10 -15 years old?
:coffee2:

stasys

Jun 13, 2009
Detector(s) used
minelab explorer xs