First Ever Nickel Box. Was it worth it?

JD-GA

Feb 2, 2010
Dallas,GA
Detector(s) used
Garrett Ace 250
Ok so im a total newb on nickels. I mean i know all about nickels in our history and the dates but are my results on my first nickel box average, above, below so I know if it want to continue doing them? I set out hoping for 2010s of course but i ended up with 2 dateless buffalos, 1 silver wartime 1943 , and 23 1960 or older with 17 of the 23 being 1940s? Any help would be appreciated from you nickel folks.

Upvote 0

AGCoinHunter

Bronze Member
Aug 13, 2009
Detector(s) used
ACE 250 (MD) Bare hands (CRH)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thats a very good box for nickels. I average about .9 silvers per box and never get 2 buffs in the same one.

Rich Hartford

Silver Member
Nov 27, 2008
JD-GA said:
Ok so im a total newb on nickels. I mean i know all about nickels in our history and the dates but are my results on my first nickel box average, above, below so I know if it want to continue doing them? I set out hoping for 2010s of course but i ended up with 2 dateless buffalos, 1 silver wartime 1943 , and 23 1960 or older with 17 of the 23 being 1940s? Any help would be appreciated from you nickel folks.

I haven't done nickels this year(got a silver war nickel in the coinstar yesterday). I just keep the silver ones and buffs when I did search them.
Looks like you got a pretty good box. Some save pre 60, but I could not tell you why.
In my own opinion one would be better off searching quarters over nickels if your looking for silver,and want to try something different than halves and dimes. Then again there is always the possibility of getting a box of 2009's or 10's. Someone got a couple of boxes of 2010's not too long ago. Never heard of anyone getting a box of 2009's.
If I were on the prowl for these new dates I would hit the business window of a large national bank in a good sized city,or surrounding suburbs.
HH
Rich

silvereagle78

Mar 14, 2009
The Burgh PA