First Metal Detector

Tau44

Nov 10, 2009
Western Kentucky
Detector(s) used
Mine Lab Xterra 705
Ok, I am a newbie! I want to get a metal detector. I was going to get the Garrett 2500 model. THen I read some of the posts and some people like it and some people loved it. Which you will find with any metal detector. My budget is 1200 or so dollars. Would consider spending a little more if need be. If you could only have one metal detector which one would you have to have? I want to look for coins, civil war items, jewelry, cache of items and etc.

OP
OP
T

Tau44

Nov 10, 2009
Western Kentucky
Detector(s) used
Mine Lab Xterra 705
I also was looking at the Cortes, Tesoro. Is that the top of the line for Tesoro? Would that be a good machine that would work for coins, jewelry, civil war relics, and things like that? I wouldn't out grow that machine would i?

khouse

Dec 6, 2006
You should pick something in the mid price range. After all you'll need some money for an electronic pinpointer. The Garrett Propointer is great. Buy a good digger like a Predator. I would suggest a Garrett 1350 or Whites M6 or MXT. All three have a good resale with plenty of good reviews. You will do fine with any of these units and keep up with the higher priced machines.

fwcrawford

Jan 7, 2008
Virginia
Detector(s) used
Minelab X-Terra 50, Minelab Musketeer Advantage, Tesoro Vaquero, Minelab Sovereign GT
Have you looked at the new Line of X-terras by Minelab.
They are very light weight, use only 4 AA batteries, and with a good selection of coils, this is a very versitle detector.
Check it out,
Felix

John (Ma)

Silver Member
Jul 12, 2007
Western Massachusetts
Detector(s) used
Minelab Excal 1000, Tesoro Silver Umax, Tiger Shark and Whites MXT.