Sandog

Bronze Member
Nov 27, 2017
Treasure coast
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
20171126_115951.jpg 20171126_165623.jpg 20171126_165348.jpg
Not sure if this post made it the first time. Can you tell I'm new at this stuff?
Found this at foot of an eroded dune, in an area of 1715 finds in St Lucie county. No idea what it is, nor it's origins. Too slender and long for a spike or nail. About 13.25" long if straightened out and .25" at thickest. Rounded head rather that flat. Definitely appears to be hand wrought. Thought it could be a pin or needle. Might be an eye in that encrusted head. Only my 3rd effort at beach detecting, so I don't have much knowledge of these things. NO knowledge actually. So if you have seen or know of similar items, or even want to put forth a speculation, please do so.

Upvote 8

Bodhi69

Jul 31, 2017
Treasure Coast, FL
Detector(s) used
AT PRO, Fischer Aquanaut
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
My first thought was that it is a sailmakers needle. This would help to justify the size and the curve.

peruna

Feb 14, 2016
central Texas
Detector(s) used
Simplex+
Nox 800
Garrett carrot
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
OP
OP
Sandog

Sandog

Bronze Member
Nov 27, 2017
Treasure coast
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks for the input folks. I'll try to go thru the museum as suggested. Maybe someone will have a similar photo of an identified object like this. There was a lot of early Florida history in that area so the possible age range is huge. Finding it in the dune sure suggest a maritime use.

OP
OP
Sandog

Sandog

Bronze Member
Nov 27, 2017
Treasure coast
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Thanks RustyGold. Looking forward to being a part of all of this.

Evolution

Gold Member
Aug 2, 2007
Upstate NY
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX (with 4x6 shooter DD coil and 12" spider coil), Minelab Rocco 2700. (E-Trac)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting