First time out jitters

forgetaboudit

Feb 15, 2014
Milwaukee
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
So I think I'll try getting out and detecting for my first time tomorrow... Its been warm enough to melt some snow in some areas. My yard is still full of snow, but the awesome courthouse and jail grounds i got permission to hunt is all melted off, and I'd like to get out and search it tomorrow, but I'm nervous since i've never done it before. Any tips on what to say if people come out and watch and or try talking with me?
Or should I just wait until the snow is all gone and start in my own yard? Or try going to a park and hunting snow cleared areas? I'm determined to give it a shot tomorrow somewhere. I'm fairly confident in myself that I'll do well, but I just dont know....
Sorry if this seems like a strange topic/question.

Dave Rishar

Silver Member
Mar 6, 2008
WA
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero, XP Deus, Vallon Gizmo
Start in your own yard. You don't want to learn how to cut a plug and fill it properly in someone else's yard, but you can tear your own up all you like. It only takes a few holes to get the hang of it, but those first few holes may be a little rough. I would definitely not want to learn this skill on someone else's property. Please, please, please, get the hang of this before you go out on the town. Work on your pinpointing while you're at it so that you're not cutting plugs out of plugs. You want to leave no trace that you were there.