Florida Park - Newtown Square, PA

M

macgyver

I'm a newbie here, and I am still in the research phase of my hunt, but I was wondering if anyone could help me out. I was reading a book written by the Marple/Newtown Historical Society on the area, and there was a place called "Florida Park" frequently mentioned. Now, I have been in the area where it supposedly was (near a small shopping center in Edgemont), and there is about a six-block section of houses named Florida Park. The thing I am wondering is why in the book it was always mentioned as a vacation spot. Does anybody know if there was a picnic area or swimming hole in that area? The area is rich in history, and I think it might turn out to be a hotspot if I can figure this out. Thanks ;)

root

Feb 25, 2005
Southeastern Pa.
Hiya Mac....

I know the area you speak of and I'm wondering if this area may be where Castle Rock Park once stood. BTW....I'm in Springfield.

Peace and HH,

root

OP
OP
M

macgyver

Coolness :D

What was Castle Rock? I have seen things named Castle Rock on maps of the area, but I haven't paid much attention to them. I know Ridley Creek State Park is nearby as well - do you think that the Florida Park area extended into the area back there?

I also am guessing that you have heard of the Indian Cave in Marple township? They found a corpse in the 1940's of a Lenape indian!

root

Feb 25, 2005
Southeastern Pa.
macgyver said:
Coolness :D

What was Castle Rock? I have seen things named Castle Rock on maps of the area, but I haven't paid much attention to them. I know Ridley Creek State Park is nearby as well - do you think that the Florida Park area extended into the area back there?

I also am guessing that you have heard of the Indian Cave in Marple township? They found a corpse in the 1940's of a Lenape indian!