Garrett Ace 250 or Tesoro Silver Umax

cstraiton

Sep 29, 2009
Flatwoods, Kentucky
I know this has been a common question, but here it goes. First off, I'm new to treasure hunting and this forum. I'm looking into buying my first detector. I live in North East Kentucky and I will be using it for coins and relics. I'm not too sure what the soil is like up here, but I know there are a lot of coal mines around the area as well as a lot of rocks in the soil. I have a budget of $300.00 or less and was looking at both the Garrett Ace 250 and the Tesoro Silver Umax. Which one would be better for my area and my purpose? Thanks in advance for your help.

AUDuke

Apr 20, 2008
Quartzsite AZ
Detector(s) used
TDI, GB, GM-4, Vaquero, F75, Cibola, Compadre, Stingray, ML Explorer
IMO Any Tesoro is a far better detector than the ACE250 and it has a good lifetime warranty. It will probably detect deeper than the 250 in your dirt. The 250 has a " bell tone" that dings after it passes the target, I find this very irritating.

BuckleBoy

Gold Member
Jun 12, 2006
Moonlight and Magnolias
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75, Whites DualField PI, Fisher 1266-X and Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
AUDuke said:
IMO Any Tesoro is a far better detector than the ACE250 and it has a good lifetime warranty. It will probably detect deeper than the 250 in your dirt. The 250 has a " bell tone" that dings after it passes the target, I find this very irritating.

Agreed. :thumbsup:

If the soil is heavily mineralized, cst will probably want something with a manual ground balance.

The best thing cst can do is find out how mineralized the soil is by asking other hunters in his area.

OP
OP
cstraiton

cstraiton

Sep 29, 2009
Flatwoods, Kentucky