Gold Metal Detector, which is best and easy to use?

VO3434

Nov 24, 2009
Woodland Hills, Ca.
Detector(s) used
Dfx, Prizm V
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I have been looking for a good gold detector that is easy to use. I have a Goldbug but it seems to frustrate me; I am a novice, so that is easy to do. Lol. I have looked high and low. I was looking at the GPX5000 from Minelab, there were a few for sale on Ebay in the $3000-4000 range, but after reading articles on how the are fakes and copies from China, I was discouraged. How do you tell the real from the fake?
What is a good gold detector that I can get that is ,how should I put it.....idiot proof?

Upvote 0

nuggetshooter323

Jul 22, 2005
Colorado Springs
Detector(s) used
The Legend, Anfibio Equinox 900, Gold Kruzer, XP Deus, ORX, Tesoro Tejon, Whites GMT, Falcon MD20, XP MI-6, Fisher F-Pulse, Pulse Dive, Vibra Probe, UniProbe.
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
I don't know which GB you have, but are you having trouble ground balancing? Maybe your GB is out of tune and needs to be sent back to the factory for maintenance. The new GB has a one button "ground grab", and Whites has the GMZ that is pretty foolproof.

Terry Soloman

Gold Member
May 28, 2010
White Plains, New York
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Nokta Makro Legend// Pulsedive// Minelab GPZ 7000// Vanquish 540// Minelab Pro Find 35// Dune Kraken Sandscoop// Grave Digger Tools Tombstone shovel & Sidekick digger// Bunk's Hermit Pick
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I have been looking for a good gold detector that is easy to use. I have a Goldbug but it seems to frustrate me; I am a novice, so that is easy to do. Lol. I have looked high and low. I was looking at the GPX5000 from Minelab, there were a few for sale on Ebay in the $3000-4000 range, but after reading articles on how the are fakes and copies from China, I was discouraged. How do you tell the real from the fake?