Gold Prospecting Question (Just Gotta Know)

kdfritton

Jun 12, 2007
Detector(s) used
whites MXT
I have been watching the shows/TV,reading the books/internet and all that stuff, and understand that the nuggets/flakes etc are usually found in /around stream/river beds and have washed down the mountain to that location. My question is this: If the lil nuggets etc. have washed down then the big heavy nuggets are probably still up high on the mountain, right ? arent they? It just makes sense every time I think about it,,Then again I have never used a pan and I am new to this sport..In any case I gotta know the answer, Any Takers? Dan AKA Alumadude

Upvote 0

Willy

Possibly, but not nececelery. Often enough, there wasn't any large veins of gold eroded out.. only small ones. Also, depending on where the gold made up, the big stuff might have already washed down. Another factor to consider is glaciation and landslides. ..Willy.

bigfish31

Jan 4, 2007
North of Sacramento,Ca.
Detector(s) used
dfx
I'm sure there are big pieces of gold that are close to their source. The way I see it is.. The pieces erode away from the vein, fall down to the low spot , and keep going lower until it gets stopped by some obstruction. It's always good to find the source. Having said that, I have found multiple nuggets by climbing up a column of rock above the waterline and busting It open.

djui5

Bronze Member
May 22, 2006
Mesa, AZ
Detector(s) used
None
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Large chunks of gold can travel quite far if the river flows with enough force. People don't understand how much force is behind most rivers/canyons. It just seems calm on the surface in most cases.

You can usually tell how far a nugget has traveled by how rounded it is. If it's large and is really rounded around the edges then it's gone quite a long ways. The more jagged it is, the closer to the source the nugget is.

kuger

Gold Member
Nov 6, 2007
Detector(s) used
,M.X.T.& Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest: