Gold Ring from an 1869 Australian Shipwreck - info on style/hall marks requested

Maustrauser

Tenderfoot
Sep 16, 2015
New South Wales
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hi,
I posted this query on Reddit and was advised to come here as you guys are so knowledgeable. I am a writer and am trying to solve a mystery relating to the owner of a gold ring lost in a shipwreck (or perhaps murdered for the ring). As this material will be used in a book that is yet to be published I can't provide too many details about the wreck or the owner of the ring. However, as soon as the book is published I'll provide full details here. Sorry about the mystery but I have been tracking down this story for the past six years and don't want to reveal it until I have all the facts!

I've attached two photos of a gold ring that was found on the shipwreck in New South Wales in 1969 by a couple of recreational divers. The wreck occurred in 1869.

I know nothing about rings and so any comments anyone can provide would be greatly appreciated.

The ring appears to be a gold signet ring. It contains a makers mark(or Hallmark?) inside that says GLM or CLM. The initials on the outside say APL and are likely to be the initials of the owner.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Maus

Attachments

• Inside.jpg
    Inside.jpg
    479.6 KB · Views: 200
  • Outside.jpg
    Outside.jpg
    160.2 KB · Views: 168

cudamark

Gold Member
Top Banner Poster
Mar 16, 2011
San Diego
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
XP Deus 2, Equinox 800/900, Fisher Impulse AQ, E-Trac, 3 Excal 1000's, White's TM808, VibraProbe, 15" NEL Attack, Mi6, Steath 920ix and 720i scoops, TRX, etc....
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Welcome to Tnet! Interesting ring. Good Luck on your quest.

Upvote 0

briguy

Jun 30, 2012
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
The ring could have been used for wax seals. Not sure of anything else.

Upvote 0

Diggin-N-Dumps

Gold Member
Sep 9, 2009
Fort Worth,Texas