Grad School holding me back wrap up post. Colonial, CW, more

Stef45

Jan 7, 2016
SC
Detector(s) used
Minelab Safari
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Since grad school started back up I've been busy with that. Haven't had that much time to get out and dig, but now that the weather has started to turn we will be able to get into some more sites! This is a wrap up from a few hunts the last month or so at the same spot I've been hunting all summer. I found out that a lot of the land I've been swinging has been fill dirt brought in for the last 30-40 years. The owner told me that the dirt has come from ditches and from when they started paving roads. So that makes a lot more sense. Ive found so many CW buttons and relics at this site and who knows where they came from.

First up is a first for me. Union Infantry cuff button. Had just little gilt left but is in great shape. Was stoked to finally get one. Extra Quality

IMG_5321.jpg IMG_5322.jpg

Dug another General Service and this one has a great green patina on it. Scovill

IMG_5323.jpg IMG_5324.jpg

Dug my first flat button at this site from 1820's. Reads "Lewis & Tomes Standard Colour Trebble Gilt "

IMG_5325.jpg

This Great Seal is interesting. Is it part of a hat? or saddle? not sure but the back is weird.

IMG_5326.jpg IMG_5327.jpg

This tiny little ball button might be silver. I thought it might just be some aluminum trash but I thought it might be silver so i threw it in the pouch and cleaned it up later. Glad I did. Will do a silver test on it the next time I see VMI if he ever stops flying.

IMG_5329.jpg IMG_5330.jpg

Another tiny ball button was found not too far away. Not sure how old these two piece ball buttons are but I like them.

IMG_5331.jpg IMG_5332.jpg

I have dug few coins at this site. Other than the two silver Washington's and the 1853 Seated Half Dime there has been no silver. Most of them have been Wheats and Later IHP's. 1942 Wheat and 1903 IHP this time.

IMG_5333.jpg