Great teqhnique for getting all of the Banks customer wrapped rolls

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter- Quick Silver (I know, I am a novice, give me a break! :P)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Great teqhnique for getting all of the Bank's customer wrapped rolls

Bring some machine wrapped rolls with you to exchange for customer wrapped rolls, and explain why you are doing so. Has anybody ever tried this? I am sure a bank would have no issue doing this, and might even invite the idea, as many tellers have mentioned customer wrapped coins being a pain in the ass. They hate customer wrapped rolls for the most part in that they may be shorted or contain foreign coins, and often need to be sent out. MWRs can be easily reused by the bank, no problem.

Upvote 0

CurlysGold

Sep 23, 2012
East Coast
Detector(s) used
Fisher F75 SE
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
I just buy CWRs with cash. My banks save them and I pickup twice a week. Take care of the vault managers and they'll lookout for you. Just my two cents...

goldencoin

Gold Member
Sep 27, 2005
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Whites DFX & Beach Hunter ID
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
normally not worth the trouble if they are a normal pick up bank. However, if you absolutely must have the rest of the CWR (like when you find a hoard), then take the old ones back with your marks on the wrapper and swap them. I've done that before and have found other parts of coin collections turned in

HH
-GC

FreedomUIC

Bronze Member
Jan 4, 2010
NUNYA
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Brinks dimes are shrink wrapped, you can easily hunt without opening the roll.

OP
OP
Weaselbrott

Weaselbrott

Aug 12, 2012
Eastern Seaboard
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter- Quick Silver (I know, I am a novice, give me a break! :P)
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
How could you bring yourself to give away an unopened roll of coin? The MWR that you are swapping could be loaded with keepers.