Haunted Treasure Legends

Gypsy Heart

Gold Member
Nov 29, 2005
Ozarks
Put Your Haunted Treasure Legends Here :o :o :o

The story is thereā€™s gold in them there hills ā€” and its guarded by a ghost.

The cold, damp air howls through the coulees, ridges and valleys leading up to Wildcat Mountain State Park, two miles east of Ontario. On an overcast fall Wisconsin day, the remaining brightly colored fall leaves, with their oranges and yellows, make the mountain surreal. Against the gray sky, it appears as if some of the trees themselves are glowing.

If the interweaving roads and trails leading up to the mountain could tell a story, it wouldnā€™t be just one story, it would be many.

The Mountain itself is said to be haunted by a very specific ghost ā€” Wildcat Mountainā€™s Sentinel.

The story of the Sentinel was chronicled in the 1996 book Driftless Spirits by Dennis Boyer. An attorney by trade and one of Wisconsinā€™s finest folklore authors, Boyer wrote about his interview with a unnamed Rockton resident.

During the term of Illinois Governor John Peter Altgeld, who held that post from 1892-1896, a load of gold in an iron-plated wagon was supposedly traveling from Billings Mont., possibly to Chicago. The reason? According to Boyerā€™s story, ā€œSomehow there was a connection (between a Billings family) Governor Altgeld of Illinois, William Jennings Bryan, and some Oklahoma radicals.... Mention was also made of shadowy groups and odd conspiracies.ā€

However, word got out that a load of gold was on the road, and soon everyone, from treasury agents to common highway thieves, was looking for it.

As the wagon train with the gold passed Wildcat Mountain, the man from Billings in charge of the expedition had the gold buried high in the rocks at night. Then the wagon train carried on. However, ā€œLatin American revolutions and World War I claimed the lives of everyone who had seen where the gold was buried.ā€