deathhare

Dec 29, 2008
Nashville, TN
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Vaquero, Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Ive been using an old metal detector for a few months that was on loan from a friend. Its a real POS $50 deal but has been fun and Ive found some good stuff. Most of all its gotten me hooked on this and now Im ready to buy my own detector.
Ive been researching and looking at detectors in my price range. (around 180-250 bucks)

Right now Im looking at the Garrett Ace 250 and the Whites Prizm 2 and 3.
Are these bad ways to go and are there others in my price range that I have overlooked that could be better?
Mostly Im into CW relic hunting, looking in parks and home sites for coins and anything interesting.

Thanks a lot for your help.

Upvote 0

twistidd

Bronze Member
Nov 11, 2007
Chicago
Detector(s) used
White's Matrix M6 w/ Sun-Ray DX-1, 950 coil and 6x10 DD, Minelab Excalibur II, Garrett Ace 250, Garmin Etrex GPS
I began with a Bounty Hunter years ago but personally, I'd recommend a Garrett Ace 250. I'd tell you about it but there is more than enough info floating around about it for you!

I have heard that the Tesoro Silver Umax is a great, inexpensive, deep-seeking detector for a very low price. A lot of people here have that one and love it! I for one wouldn't pass one up if I saw one for sale, used somewhere.

The White's detectors are very good also. I use a White's M6 almost exclusively and I LOVE it!

In reality, all detectors are good, it really depends on where you hunt and what you'll be hunting for. Good luck buddy!

Joe

OP
OP
deathhare

deathhare

Dec 29, 2008
Nashville, TN
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
twistidd said:
I began with a Bounty Hunter years ago but personally, I'd recommend a Garrett Ace 250. I'd tell you about it but there is more than enough info floating around about it for you!