Attachments

• Sign BM 2-02-08 - Turtle Rock.jpg
    Sign BM 2-02-08 - Turtle Rock.jpg
    88 KB · Views: 497

Robby Comstock

Feb 11, 2008
Colorado Springs
David,

I am a rookie in this type of stuff, but I am not sure I see a turtle. I see a rock. Now I am basing this comment from pictures of turtes I have seen in this forum, since I have never personally seen one.

truckinbutch

Silver Member
Feb 15, 2008
Morgantown,WV
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Landstar
I know little ,as well.My guess is that it is pointing to a left turn.The tree,if this picture is in the eastern states,is too young to be contemporary to the marker.

Old Dog

Gold Member
May 22, 2007
Western Colorado
Dave,

I can't say for sure. do you have photos of this thing from other angles?
Another thing that might help to get a little more perspective is to put something of yours in the picture for perspective.
Set your compass on the rock and it will give a size perspective to guage how big or old the tree is.

clear away the leaves and accumulated dirt from the stone without moving it any, if it is a turtle it may have legs (this is important) legs will tell wat direction to go.

Look a little closer, and try not to be disappointed if it isn't a turtle.

Thom

OP
OP
D

David Ga.

Apr 18, 2008
HI Thom :

No other photo's at this time of the other side but I did look at it , It looks the same as the side in the photo , It has a front leg on both sides , No back legs either side , Neck as you can see in the photo also you can see that the shell has been carved . The Turtle rock is about 2' long . The tree is too young . I'll take more photo's when I can get back there .

Thanks for your input . David

Monk

Sep 10, 2004
Where ever my coffee cup lands
Detector(s) used
Fisher 1280X