Diggincoinz

Bronze Member
Dec 19, 2004
Wayne County, NY
Detector(s) used
Minelab X-Terra 70 / Tesoro TigerShark / Fisher F70
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm currious, I've been using a GTAx550 for a few years now, I haven't got any coins deeper than 7 inches and that ONE time I hit a coin that deep it was a early large cent (real thin and worn down to nothing). I do a lot of detecting and my machine does great at signaling even the smallest fragments.

I have my machine set to only descriminate lower end junk, screws and bottle caps.

Is there a way to set my machine to go deeper?

Chris

Attachments

• gta x550.jpg
    gta x550.jpg
    14.3 KB · Views: 315

diggummup

Gold Member
Jul 15, 2004
Somewhere in the woods
Detector(s) used
Whites M6
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I don't have anything to offer but I was looking to buy (maybe) that same machine (used) and would like to hear some input about it myself. You using the stock coil?

John-Edmonton

Silver Member
Mar 21, 2005
Canada
Detector(s) used
Garrett- Master Hunter CX,Infinium, 1350, 2500, ACE 150-water converted 250, GTA 500,1500 Scorpion, AT Pro
I rarely dig coins at 7-8 inches in the ground. They just don't get that deep in my area. I have dug coins from the turn of the century at 5 inchs, along with 3 ringers and musket balls. I have dug coins at much deeper depths in the snow matrix. I believe that I get about the same depth in snow as an air test. But we sometimes have 18-24 inches of snow on the ground, and I surely can't get them that deep.

Perhaps you haven't gotten any deeper coins because there just aren't many lying around. The fact that your Garrett did pick one up at 7 inches is actually a compliment. I have owned machines in the past which couldn't pick up anything below 4 inches in my soil.

Some of the missing variables missing are your type of soil you hunt in, the size of your coil and swing spped.

Looks like you got a decent machine in my books.........

OP
OP