How do I deal with clay?

rags-to-riches

Greenie
Mar 9, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everyone! I'm new to gold panning, and live in central ohio. I am panning a small creek by my house and am finding alot of cool shiny stuff and found my first flake today! My problem is the creek doesn't seem to have a "riverbed" just a hard clay bottom. I see all types of stuff stuck to the clay but am having a hard time separating it. Also, I'm getting into clay in about 4"...should i dig past the clay? If I post some pics could you point out some spots!? Thanks!!!!

Tnmountains

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 27, 2009
South East Tennessee on Ga, Ala line
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Tesoro Conquistador freq shift
Fisher F75
Garrett AT-Pro
Garet carrot
Neodymium magnets
5' Probe
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hey everyone! I'm new to gold panning, and live in central ohio. I am panning a small creek by my house and am finding alot of cool shiny stuff and found my first flake today! My problem is the creek doesn't seem to have a "riverbed" just a hard clay bottom. I see all types of stuff stuck to the clay but am having a hard time separating it. Also, I'm getting into clay in about 4"...should i dig past the clay? If I post some pics could you point out some spots!? Thanks!!!!

Welcome aboard. I would post it in the Gold panning section. They have a really good gold forum on here and those guys are pros. Good luck with the clay!

TheNewCatfish

Mar 4, 2011