Need sound advice on my first metal detector

ret-detector

Feb 20, 2013
Central Florida
Detector(s) used
AT Pro/Pro Pointer
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting
Well I'm new to MDing, but not to life...I'm retired and have the time to research everything...every detail.:icon_scratch:
That said, I did a ton of research on several different forums, various iNet sites, and with some MD groups in the area. One name kept cropping up for me...Garrett AT Pro. Now, it's not the cheapest MD, but being pretty sure about what I wanted to do, I wanted more than an 'entry level' machine. I also bought the Garrett Pro Pointer...for similar reasons.

That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.8-)

liftloop

Silver Member
May 7, 2008
lakelinden mi
Detector(s) used
MXTdeepscan 8by14dd, bulls eye 2, 5900diprosl Maxima1500, Master Hunter cx plus Treasure Hound, surf
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
you have to spend time with any detector to know it
the thing is do you want look at a screen and have a pretty good Idea what their
or go with it beep were i set it at
and you dig
or silent serch

liftloop

Last edited:

mjarvis

Jan 4, 2013
Gold river
Detector(s) used
Bounty hunter. Whites MXT, whites pinpointer
Primary Interest:
Prospecting
Hopefulgold, depends on what you want to look for. For that price range you could get a really nice one. I have a WHITES MXT. Wish I could have the MXT PRO but they are just abt the same. They also have great customer service if you ever have a prob. I also like the Tesoro models. Go on to Kellcos website and to can compare any detector and price. Good luck.

Mzjavert

Silver Member
Oct 7, 2011
Indiana
Detector(s) used
Bounty Hunter Mark IV
Garrett Ace 350
Garrett Carrot
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting