I found a real Treasure before I started Metal Detecting!!

j.d. in the usa

Bronze Member
Sep 21, 2003
Allentown Pa.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
DFX 300
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I was contacted the other day to see if I'm willing to loan my piece to a traveling "History of Guitars" museum for a year and I realized I have only told a few of my metal detecting treasure hunting buddies of My life before metal detecting it was very different than it is now I was a musician on the road most of the time and when I settled down I became a manager of a music store, I was at a yard sale type flea market in 1994 and an old lady was selling a guitar it was old and not in great shape. To make a long story short I wont post it all here... I wound up buying the guitar for $10.00.
I brought it back to the music store and tried to sell it for $75.00 after about a year on the wall and no takers I took it to the basement and there it sat for another year or so...
It was on a sunday we would open up and have band practice I got a phone call someone was trying to sell a vintage rare guitar so I opened up a Vintage Guitar Magazine it has stories and pictures of rare guitars as I was flipping through the pages one of my friends Al put his hand in the pages and said "stop thats your guitar..." well we found the page he was talking about and sure enough they had the same features of the guitar I had bought we went running downstairs and got the guitar and started reading the story.... the pictures and article about those guitars I am posting here... its a "Doc" Kaufmann Kremo Kustom Guitar...well within a week the news spread throughout the guitar world I had found one of the rarest guitars in the world in a small flea market in the midwest! When you read the article it tells you the complete history of the maker of this guitar why its so rare and why its so important to the history of electric guitars.