Is my 11" DD coil Bad? AGAIN!!!! - Final Update

Bigggrick

Feb 26, 2011
Is my 11" DD coil Bad? AGAIN!!!! - Final Update

See the update at the bottom of this post.

I am new to Metal detecting. Bought a new Gold Bug Pro in April 2011, got it with both the 5" and 11 " coils. I have been using only the 5" for nugget Hunting in the desert until this week. I am at the beach for a week. Using the 11" coil for about 5 hours in the dry sand all worked fine. Put it into the surf at about 6" depth and within 5 minutes the battery showed no bars and the "overload" was Flashing on the display. With the coil disconnected all looks good on the display. Dried the coil in the sun for a few hours and it was working again. This morning, alittle damp out and it is back in overload. The coil has little time on it , not even a scratch, no visable cracks anywhere. The wire going into the coil looks in good condition.

I do not have my small coil with me on vacation so I am stuck, at the beach without a working detector!!!!

Any Ideas?

Update: Back from vacation and have contacted Fisher. They admitted to having similar problems with the coil. They must have had a bunch that had bad sonic welds that let the saltwater get into the connection area, killing the coil. After 5 days the coil is still dead. Fisher said that I need to send it in and they will replace it. However, vacation is over and that beach wil need to wait until next year.

Thanks for your input.