Silver Member
Feb 28, 2013
Golden Valley Arid-Zona
Detector(s) used
Fisher / Gold Bug AND the MK-VII eyeballs
Primary Interest:
Other
Hey Ya'll,

I've never used a MD before but my better half Robi has a little Radio Shack Discoverer 1000 that I've been trying to learn. Now I know it's not anywhere near the quality of something like a Whites or MineLab unit, but is there any hope of using it for hunting nuggets or is it going to be stuck finding loose change at the local park?

Upvote 0

jmoller99

Jan 8, 2010
Colorado Springs, Colorado USA
Detector(s) used
Whites GMT, Goldmaster Vsat, 5900, Bounty Hunter Discovery 3300 and Falcon MD-20.
Primary Interest:
Other
The discovery 1000 is not a Gold Detector (it will find Gold Rings, coins and all manner of the same sorts of trash a coin hunting detector will). It will not do you much good looking for gold (It can't even be ground balanced; in the highly mineralized areas you would be looking for gold - this alone will stop you dead in your tracks).

It is, however, a good detector to learn on. Spend a lot of time learning how it works and hunt for coins with it. Looking for gold, even with a detector optimised for finding it, is very hard to get down - It was at least a year and half before I actually found my first gold nugget. In that time I probably dug up 100 lbs of trash (gold optimised detectors find everything, along with gold (if the gold is large enough)).

Last edited:

dustytrails123

Bronze Member
Apr 14, 2012
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer Se Pro,Garrett At/Pro,Garrett Ace 350,Tesoro Cibola,Tesoro Outlaw,Bounty Hunter SharpShooter 2
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Nuggets no park yes

Steve Herschbach

Apr 1, 2005
Nevada
Primary Interest:
Metal Detecting