Is there Possibly Gold in this Quartz?

RockDigger

Jan 11, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm new at this, but I recently found some yellowish golden colored quartz. I thought the outside may just be stained so I broke it open, and there's a light golden color all through it. There are no obvious specks or flakes of gold, so I'm thinking it's probably just some sort of staining. But I also read that in gold ore there is often not chunks/specs of gold. Within the very small veins/cracks the Is it possible gold could be so finely dispersed within the quartz that it would have that color, or is that just iron or manganese or something?

There are also small pockets of what looks like a yellow substance mixed with dirt, but is hard and will not break off. It looks more like some of the pictures I've seen of gold ore. This is probably just wishful thinking, but I would appreciate anyone's thoughts on this.

Attachments

• Quartz1a.JPG
    Quartz1a.JPG
    548.5 KB · Views: 4,303
  • Quartz4.JPG
    Quartz4.JPG
    573.5 KB · Views: 2,090
  • Quartz5.JPG
    Quartz5.JPG
    485.5 KB · Views: 3,473
Upvote 0

Fullpan

Bronze Member
May 6, 2012
nevada
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
If the quartz you have there is part of a large area of quartz cobbles, or near a vein, go ahead and crush it and maybe ten or so other samples, and pan it.
If its a random rock you picked up, I'd say you've gone far enough, aside from inspecting it with magnifier.

kuger

Gold Member
Nov 6, 2007
Detector(s) used
,M.X.T.& Tesoro Tejon
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Pretty much gonna have to crush and pan like Fullpan said.Species rock with VISIBLE gold can be worth more....rocks that you cant see the gold in not so much until you get it out

OP
OP
R

RockDigger

Jan 11, 2013
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting