Jan 9, 2007
North Carolina
🥇 Banner finds
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Manticore , Tesoro Silver uMax
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
I'm preplanning for my fall detecting spots and thought I would run this one by you folks.
As some of you know, I've been detecting a plantation house for a few years now and have, along with a few other TN members, recovered quite a few nice relics and coins from the place.
The best coins so far have been a 1782 Irish halfpenny (NCJoe), Spanish silver 1/2 reale (Mirage), 1833 Half dime (me), 1917 SLQ (me), plus more.
Shermans troops camped on this property during the CW too, so I've dug many CW bullets, buttons (CW & Colonial), and relics here.
There are two horse pastures that have become overgrown with weeds (some 4' tall :'( ) since the horse owner was renting & took his horses elsewhere. What used to be nice easy to dig detecting areas are now impossible to detect. Since this is for my own enjoyment, and the owners are super people that never ask for any of my finds, I was thinking about paying to have these two pastures replowed in hopes of turning up more coins & relics. I would pick up the tab at no cost to the owners. The owners don't have the equipment to plow the pastures, so I'm getting quotes now. One pasture is about an acre and the other is about two I'm guessing. I talked to an old guy today down the road that used to keep cows there, and he said he would charge me about $100 to plow it up, which seemed fairly cheap to me. ???
He has a plow attachment with about 8-10 long spiked blades that face straight down, not a disc type plow. Sorry I'm not a farmer, so I don't know the official plow type. ;D

Questions:
1) Would you yourself spend the $100 for a chance to dig more CW relics, coins, and other relics?

2) FARMERS - Any idea if this is a good price? The guy with the plow is only 1/2 mile away.