LOOKING FOR ADVICE

dano91

Apr 3, 2005
colorado
I can only tell you what I have heard from some pro's. Some say nugget detectors are crap!! some say they are the best thing since sliced bread. I would stay with a Fisher cz-20 for that kind of work, because I have seen it work. and get results.
Dano.
Some people will say the cz-20 was made for underwater, but I believe it was made to be the best unit out there for a reason.
and that it is overrated, but I guess you have to just pick a machine and learn it. and learn it well it will payoff.

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat
I did some nuggetshotting while I was down there, in Eldorado canyon, out by Nelson. 'bout drove my Goldmaster nuts! Lots of hot rocks and constantly changing , highly mineralized soil down there. I was a newbie at the time, so that may have played a big part, not knowing the detector well.... I have heard the Minelabs do well in this type of environment, as they were made by Australians just for that highly mineralized desert ground. I have no experience with one, however.

If you are going out that way, keep in mind that several people die each year out there, unnecessarily. read up on desert survival and carry plenty of water, and a good snakebite kit. It could save your life someday!

dano91

Apr 3, 2005
colorado
See there you go some usefull information! Stick with a multi frequency unit to over come minerals, and NO snake bite kits are a Pox on the earth, They dont work and usually make the bite worse, snake venom is so viscus [thin] that there is no way to draw it out you just damage the tissue more by trying, you have about 4 hrs at least to get to medical attention before death, and most of the big snakes are DRY [ no venom at all]
I know this, would any one like to see a picture of my leg?

Jeffro

Silver Member
Dec 6, 2005
Eugene, Oregon
Detector(s) used
Fisher CZ5, White's GM VSat