• COB  003 copy.jpg
    COB 003 copy.jpg
    82.5 KB · Views: 111

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
Could be Mexican, but I am thinking Potosi or Columbian, early 1600s what ever it is. Strange patina, almost looks sand blasted and defintly seen some abuse. Hard to see any detail to tell exactly what it is. Maybe some of the experts will let us know what they think.

Last edited:
OP
OP
steelheadwill

steelheadwill

Gold Member
Jan 2, 2010
New Castle NH.
🥇 Banner finds
Detector(s) used
Brain eyes ears and nose
Primary Interest:
Other
I thought the same about origins, the cross arms look more like the south american coins,

(narrower?) owner says mexico. I am an absolute novice, so am ready to listen. Thanks!

Mackaydon

Gold Member
Oct 26, 2004
N. San Diego Pic of my 2 best 'finds'; son & g/son
🏆 Honorable Mentions:
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks
I'd put the onus on the seller; if he can't properly ID the coin (can he authenticate it?) I'd only offer him the silver value--if it's silver. If the coin could be ID-ed then that's another story, but the condition of the coin seems to preclude identification. Personally, I'd 'pass' on the 'opportunity' to buy it.
Don.....

stevemc

Bronze Member
Feb 12, 2005
Sarasota, FL
Detector(s) used
Whites Surfmaster PI Pro and Whites Surfmaster PI, Minelab Excal NY blue sword. 2 White's Dual field pi, Garrett sea hunter pi II (but don't use it for obvious reasons) 5' x 3 1/2' coil underwater Pi
Primary Interest:
Shipwrecks