model to treasure ratio

strike it rich

Jun 19, 2007
Detector(s) used
Treasure baron with Goldtrax
After being a member here for quite a while Ive noticed that the models finding the best goodies cost the most. Is this due to the cost of model the quality of the componets or the case more branded models are used than cheapos.

How long does it take to recoup the cost of a metal detector,the things retrieved seem to be only worth scrap vaule unless its a particularly rare coin or artifact.

Tubecity

Bronze Member
Mar 11, 2007
sw Pa.
Since this received no replies, let me add my humble opinion. First off
I still use a BH detector, been detecting since the early 80's off & on and know
I'm still learning. I do think the better MD'ers will perform somewhat better
but I think the difference is in the experience of the user. Most people probably
started out with a lower priced unit & as they gained experience & interest they
bought higher priced machines. If a person doesn't take the time & effort to
learn the hobby, it won't matter how high priced their tools are. Of course
the blind squirrel will find some acorns now and then.

hollowpointred

Gold Member
Mar 12, 2005
Detector(s) used
Minelab Explorer SE/Garrett GTI 2500/ Ace 250
Tubecity said:
Since this received no replies, let me add my humble opinion. First off
I still use a BH detector, been detecting since the early 80's off & on and know
I'm still learning. I do think the better MD'ers will perform somewhat better
but I think the difference is in the experience of the user. Most people probably
started out with a lower priced unit & as they gained experience & interest they
bought higher priced machines. If a person doesn't take the time & effort to
learn the hobby, it won't matter how high priced their tools are. Of course
the blind squirrel will find some acorns now and then.