Silver Surfer

Bronze Member
Oct 6, 2009
Florida- Somewhere in the middle
Detector(s) used
MXT 300/Excal II/Surf Dual Field
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
Hit the beach at Jax again yesterday.... I know I am setting it up right because I bury a few different coins and then "find" them to ascertain signals, etc... I have no problem hearing them, and the MXT is very accurate at identifying things.... BUT... Either it is very sensitive to pennies, I am a novice and need practice, people only go to the beach with pennies anymore, the beach is literally picked very clean, or a combination of the above..
I found another $0.52 in clad (17 pennies) and scores of bottle-tops (do people even KNOW what those blue containers scattered all over the place are for???).... Went for a drive south past all the huge and beautiful homes, and finally found another spot where the beach can be accessed.. Now I HAVE to go out to this place again.. Not a "refurbished" beach, the sand is only 4" deep and then hard-packed shell which, to me, should mean finds wont be deep... Only hunted for about 45 min and found two pennies and one OLD pull top.. The beach is very clean, not one bottle cap... I will post tomorrow what I find. Have about 4 hrs in the morning.

Sorry for the long post... Two in one I guess... :icon_scratch:

johnnycat

Bronze Member
Aug 19, 2007
Mechanicsville, VA
Detector(s) used
Legend
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting
When I had an MXT I called it the, "penny machine". If there was a penny to be found I found it.

Sandman

Gold Member
Aug 6, 2005
In Michigan now.
Detector(s) used
Excal 1000, Excal II, Sovereign GT, CZ-20, Tiger Shark, Tejon, GTI 1500, Surfmaster Pulse, CZ6a, DFX, AT PRO, Fisher 1235, Surf PI Pro, 1280-X, many more because I enjoy learning them. New Garrett Ca
Primary Interest:
All Treasure Hunting