My First Post, My first Colonial Coins

DCMDer

Oct 2, 2007
Washington DC
Hello All,

I've been reading your great post for a couple of years and figured it was time to share some of my own finds. I've been MDing for a few years. I hunt primarily for Civil War relics but never pass up th chance to hunt any old site. Recently I hunted two sites owned by family members. The first site is a farm that's been in my family since my great-great grandfather bought it in the late 1800-early 1900's. My large extended family met there for Sunday afternoon picnics every week when I was growing up so I knew there had to be something good. There was. Over the course of six hours I found several great relics(a complete harmonica reed, silver plated brass spoon bowl, brass fork with a little silver plating etc-sorry no pics of these), 10 wheat back pennies(earliest is 1910), and a few clad coins, but the best find by far was the Matron head large cent( no date) that I found at 10" under the old pine tree I played on as a kid.

The second site is the large field behind my grandmother's farm. Two colonial coppers had already been found on the site(not by me) so I had high hopes, but I never expected my first coin to be a Spanish 2 reale cob. I literally ran to my grandmother's house so I could show someone. What a thrill. About an hour later and several dozen pieces of tin I finally found my colonial copper- a George II halfpenny (unfortunately no date). That really made my day. That would be all for me for the day, however my brother found a Hibernia halfpenny (his second) and an 1808 Large cent. Not a bad day for us.

I'll be hunting there this weekend. Hopefully I'll have something good to post next week. Sorry about the picture quality. I'm still figuring this out.

Attachments

• coins 001.jpg
    coins 001.jpg
    109.1 KB · Views: 438
Upvote 0

Ant

Silver Member
Aug 6, 2006
Cali
Detector(s) used
Glold Bug 2 MineLab SE